NOTE: I do not update these reports after they are posted so some of the links may not work after a while. If you find a broken link check the title in the alphabetical lists of alternative or general reviews at the end of this report.

[Previous report was for 12/17/97]

Hi guys,

MaryD has added two more interviews to THE BARD'S SCROLL page - one with veteran talent Rebecca Hall and another with the gifted new writer Silk. To read their thoughts on our favorite TV series and the fan fiction it has inspired go to

There's a new alternative fan fiction site called SECTION X. It's available at

Also, Xenos has added a section to the XENA: WARRIOR PRINCESS FAN FICTION INDEX which lists Solstice stories available on the Web. The SOLSTICE TALES page is at:

Finally - a reminder that Del_Kaidin's SOLSTICE BARD CONTEST is still running. You can vote on stories/poems through midnight Christmas Eve. Winners will be announced on Christmas Day on the NetForum and Xenite Message Center. Please support Del-Kaidin's continued efforts at bringing us more fan fiction and at recognizing some of the bards out there. Make sure to stop by and VOTE! The SOLSTICE BARD CONTEST page is at:

Now a note about one of today's stories. Back in July 1997, Katrina released a very good alt. fiction story called BITE ME which was essentially a "what if" story based on the premise that after Gabrielle was bitten by bacchies (as depicted in the episode GIRLS JUST WANT TO HAVE FUN) she did indeed drink of the blood of Bacchus and become an immortal. Katrina followed the story with THE FONDER HEART which brought the series into modern times, documenting Gabrielle's meeting with a young prostitute bearing an incredible resemblance to the one woman who always held the bard's heart - the soulmate who despite being an immortal herself Gabrielle lost many years before - Xena of Amphipolis. After writing these two stories, Katrina then invited other bards to expand on the series she titled BLOOD AND ROSES. She asked only that the bards observe certain rules intended to make sure all stories in the series stayed true to the basic premise of Xena and Gab as demigods with different abilities. Xena as Ares' daughter, Gabrielle as Bacchus'. The story WHEN THE NIGHT CLOSES IN reviewed below is the latest entry in the series.

For other stories in the BLOOD AND ROSES series and for a more detailed explanation of the story conventions followed by these tales go to

Here are tonight's stories :)


GOLDEN MOMENTS by Lara Zielinsky
Set during the period in between the episodes UNCHAINED HEARTS and SINS OF THE PAST, this little tale follows Xena as she takes the first steps toward truly abandoning her life as a warlord and meets a kindred soul ready to help her on that journey. This is a nice story about the beginning of one of the most special friendships in the warrior's life.


This is a very unusual, highly original follow-up to Puckster's first two XWP novels - CEREBUS' CHALLENGE and EMPATHY'S COST. The story is set both in the present and in the ancient past and has the goddess Gaea once again calling on Xena and Gabrielle to help her fight an evil the two know all too well - an evil which now threatens a world warrior and bard never even envisioned. Joining them is Alice - a modern day woman that has lost her way in the world and is desperately looking for some meaning in her life. With a significant part of the tale unfolding in the Amazon jungle, Puckster story carries a strong conservationist theme which in itself ties well with the presence of Gaea - a goddess seen as the embodiment of the Earth itself - and with the idea that humans need a link to the natural world around them, they need a connection that goes beyond the cold, profit-driven, stiflingly civilized existence we all tend to live in. Adding to the storyline is Pucksters' solid depiction of the commitment between Xena and Gabrielle - the passion they share, the playfulness, the certain knowledge of one another. This is a fun story with a great message.

This latest entry in Katrina's BLOOD AND ROSES series (see note at the beginning of this report) is a crossover story which has Xena and Gabrielle meeting the Louis from Anne Rice's commercial novel INTERVIEW WITH A VAMPIRE. Written in a style reminiscent of the novel itself, this tale has the men who originally published the incredible interview of the vampire Louis discovering two lost chapters from the original manuscript. In them Louis remembers his encounter one night with the immortal Xena and shortly thereafter with her lover - the Ancient bard with whom he and his kind share a distant kinship. The first part of a yet unfinished story, this is well-written with rich characterizations that do justice both to the XWP characters and to Anne Rice's own. As seen through the eyes of the vampire, the bond between Xena and Gabrielle is breathtakingly sensual, strong, and timeless. This is a MUST READ which should particularly appeal to fans of both XWP and Rice's novels. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

AND FAIR TRUTH by de Bonheur
Chapters 10-14 of this story are now available. This is the sequel to de Bonheur's excellent LONG IS THE WAY SERIES. As the story begins Xena and Gabrielle are with the Amazons, happy at last while they make preparations for their joining ceremony. It is a ceremony that will only make official the love and commitment the two already share but not everyone is anxious to see them happy. Some in fact, want only to destroy their happiness... In these latest chapters a vicious plan is set in motion to separate warrior and bard. This story immediately captivates with an intriguing, suspenseful plot and a depiction of the Xena/ Gabrielle relationship that is heartfelt and deeply passionate. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

For those of you reading this post who are not familiar with the term alternative (alt.), it refers to ADULT stories that add a romantic element to the relationship between Xena and Gabby, depicting them as more than just friends.

Happy reading!

Lunacy 8-)