NOTE: I do not update these reports after they are posted so some of the links may not work after a while. If you find a broken link check the title in the alphabetical lists of alternative or general reviews at the end of this report.

[Previous report was for 3/23/98]

Hi folks,

Tonight we have a new source of Xena fan fiction reviews on the Web! BARD PICKS, managed by Katrina and located at:

BARD PICKS will feature reviews written by both bards and readers. Katrina is actively soliciting reviews so if you like to read Xena fanfic and want to write your own recommendations this is a great opportunity to do so.

BARD PICKS will be featuring reviews of some of the same stories I myself recommend but the site will also include reviews of stories NOT featured in my reports so for a more thorough picture of what's available in Xena fan fiction, second opinions and different perspectives on stories DO make the site one of your daily stops on the Web. BARD PICKS reviews will regularly be posted on the NetForum as well.

On the index front, we now have some nice new tools to aid us in looking for stories. Shadowfen has added a master index of story titles to her XENA:WARRIOR PRINCESS FAN FICTION INDEX. The index uses letter codes to differentiate between different types of stories. Shadowfen's index is at:

The ULTIMATE FAN FICTION DIRECTORY now features two new category indexes - the AMAZON TERRITORY listing stories which include Amazons, and an index of Callisto stories. The ULTIMATE FAN FICTION DIRECTORY is at:

Finally, THE XENAVERSE CODEX site has started hosting fan fiction in addition to the many indexes available there. The SCROLLS OF THE XENAVERSE CODEX page is at:

Now, here are my recommendations for tonight :)


Nene's third entry in her XENAVERSE FAERY TALES series based on classic fairy tales tackles a much darker theme than the first two offerings in the series as it tells the story of a tortured soul who targets an innocent child and a bard in a haze of rage born of abuse and neglect. A poignant story certain to affect you. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

KILLING TIME by Tim Wellman
A classic little tale from the past returns! Originally released on the NetForum back in January 1997, this story was recently lost when the SCI-FI CENTRAL FAN FICTION ARCHIVES closed but now thankfully, Tim has made it available once again. Original and intense, KILLING TIME has the the souls from a village Xena once destroyed deciding to take their revenge on the Warrior Princess...and using Xena's one weakness in order to do so. Nicely written, this story revolves around the themes and strengths of the show's first two seasons. DO NOT MISS!!

THE INNOCENCE OF WAR by Arianwen P.F. Everett
Part one of this intriguing new tale has Ares trying to convince the Fates to help him fight Dahok when an unexpected event changes the lives of a certain Warrior Princess and bard along with his own.

IT'S A KIND OF MAGIC by Beaugrnt
Part 8 of this story are now available. This is a very clever XWP/HIGHLANDER crossover tale that has the warrior, Gabrielle and some of the other characters from XWP living in an Ancient Greece where the immortals from HIGHLANDER are a reality. The story has the immortal Xena of Amphipolis, former Warrior Princess, coming upon a young girl desperately fighting the raiders who have already decimated her village. Recognizing what the young woman, named Gabrielle, is and why the raiders want her, the warrior becomes determined to save her from a fate she knows all too well. In this latest section, Gabrielle uses her bardly skills to help heal a wounded heart and start unchaining another. Beaugrnt does a nice job of integrating the characters of XWP with the elements of the two series. This should be a fun read for fans of both XWP and HIGHLANDER.


OF TWO MINDS by Katherine Colson
The debut of this new bard on the Web is marked by a passionate story of secret longings set immediately after the events in the episode ONE AGAINST AN ARMY. Still weak from her wound and the poison, Gabrielle dreams of revealing the true feelings in her heart while the object of those dreams, exhausted herself, is of a similar mind... Sensual piece.

Chapters 21-29 of this story are now available. This is an action-packed story that has Janice and Mel off on a new adventure when a vicious attack in Turkey forces them to go on the run. It is the beginning of a nightmare that will pull them apart only to later reunite them as evil threatens to destroy what they have just begun discovering. In these latest chapters the two struggle to survive while in the clutches of the Nazis. Ms. Auggie is developing a terrific tale here with some wonderful characterizations and a very tender romance. A MUST READ!

Chapter 7 is now available! This is an EXTREMELY well-written, beautifully romantic epic which has Xena and Gabby finally admitting their feelings for one another and then joining forces with Athena and two friends from the Far East to fight Ares. Raven and Katrina - the characters from the Far East are wonderful. Oversoul's writing is among the most passionate of the alt. writers. In this latest chapter, as Athena's forces prepare for battle Xena and the bard rediscover one another. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Previously reviewed 5/26/97.

For those of you reading this post who are not familiar with the term alternative (alt.), it refers to ADULT stories that add a romantic element to the relationship between Xena and Gabby, depicting them as more than just friends.

Happy reading!

Lunacy 8-)